C4 charge, small

From MazeWorld
Jump to: navigation, search
Disambiguation.png You may be looking for the other types of C4 charge.
Navigation: Main Page Weapons Class 4 weapons C4 charge, small



noframe This page is missing a Hebiquote.
You can help by writing one for this page. Please refer to the style guide for pointers on how to write one.
Weapon, Class 4
C4 charge, small
Small C4 charge.jpg
Game information
Category Planted explosive
Fire modes Command detonation
Type High explosive
Critical failure type Failure to detonate (Dud)
Weight (units) 1
Shop value / Rarity Parallar symbol.png1500 (Rarity 4)
Real world information
Manufacturer N/A
Country of origin Country Unknown.png Generic
"I don't have a witty description for this item yet."
Hebizuka (quote written by Unknown)

The Small C4 charge (also called C4 charge, small, C4 charge or simply C4) is a command detonation charge, a type of planted explosive.

Usage

This weapon is a command detonation charge. Such weapons can fit multiple purposes, but all share the same trait; they are manually detonated by the user. In order to do so, each planted charge must be paired with a Detonator.

To use this weapon, you can either plant it or throw it - see each relevant section below for details.

Planting a charge

To plant a command detonation charge, you need to use your Planted Explosives skill and spend 1 turn to attempt planting the charge.

Dice results:

  • Successes and critical successes both result in a proper planting and deployment of the charge.
  • A failure results in the charge not being properly planted, effectively wasting a turn. You can try again on the next turn.
  • A critical failure results in breaking the charge's signal receiver, turning it into a dud.

Command detonation charges have a wide and powerful area of effect to make up for being relatively slow and impractical; all creatures on the same Side as the charge will be hit with Target Damage when it explodes.

When outside of combat, you can simply choose one Side of the battlespace to plant the explosive into.

When in combat, a command detonation charge is normally planted on your current Side. If you wish to plant it into a Side other than your current one, you can move into the desired Side and begin the planting attempt as a combat move, as if using a melee weapon; it is therefore subjected to Initiative Speed.

After successfully planting a command detonation charge, the detonator can be used at any point afterwards. The use of a detonator is a free action, and can be chained with another action of your choice. It is generally advisable to leave the Side where your charge was planted; immediately using the Detonator afterwards will simply result in you being caught in the explosion; in other words: blowing yourself up. Although it will be generally safe to assume you do not want to blow yourself up, be sure to describe your actions as clearly as possible.

The general rule of thumb is only the creature who planted it can detonate it, even if in technical terms, a planted explosive charge is specifically paired to the detonator of its owner. The rule of thumb exists to keep things as simple as possible.

Throwing a charge

To throw a command detonation charge into another Side, you must use your Thrown Weapons combat skill instead, treating it similarly to a hand grenade, just without the automatic explosion at the end.

Dice results:

  • Successes and critical successes have the same effect; you successfully prime and throw the charge into the desired Side - it will then be considered planted on the Side it landed into.
  • A failure will result in the charge landing in the desired Side, but in a "bad" spot; if it is detonated, no creature will be affected by the explosion.
  • A critical failure will break the charge's signal receiver, turning it into a dud.

NOTE: If a player kills creatures with a charge that was thrown, the author recommends that the GM gives that player Thrown Weapons skill points instead of Planted Explosives skill points.

Countermeasures

Normally, the GM should inform the player of any charges in the current room.

The safest way to ensure that a command detonation charge cannot explode is to kill (or otherwise incapacitate) the creature who owns it.

If you want to reclaim a planted command detonation charge, you must spend 2 turns per charge to defuse it. No specific tools are required for defusal. Successfully defusing a charge causes it to lose its pairing with its owner's detonator, becoming completely safe to handle; it can be picked up and redeployed, if you so desire.

  • NOTE: Defusal can be attempted even if the owner of the charge is still alive (and therefore capable of using the detonator); however, doing so without ensuring it is safe to do so puts you at risk of being blown up!

Command detonation charges cannot be destroyed by attacking them; they are immune to damage.

Stats

This weapon is a non-fragmenting high-explosive; no shrapnel are released upon exploding. See Explosives for more details.

Explosion damage

Damage type LDV Pain (all ACs)
Explosion +12d6 260%

Other information

  • This weapon's payload is 200 grams (~7.06 oz) of Composition C4.